What are the weight classes for muay thai?

muay thai weight classes

Muay Thai weight classes are typically divided into several different categories, based on the weight of the fighters. The specific weight classes and their corresponding weight limits may vary depending on the organization or promotion, but most muay thai weight classes are based on the following general guidelines:

  • Flyweight: up to 112 lbs (50.8 kg)
  • Bantamweight: up to 118 lbs (53.5 kg)
  • Super bantamweight: up to 122 lbs (55.3 kg)
  • Featherweight: up to 126 lbs (57.2 kg)
  • Super featherweight: up to 130 lbs (59 kg)
  • Lightweight: up to 135 lbs (61.2 kg)
  • Super lightweight: up to 140 lbs (63.5 kg)
  • Welterweight: up to 147 lbs (66.7 kg)
  • Super welterweight: up to 154 lbs (69.9 kg)
  • Middleweight: up to 160 lbs (72.6 kg)
  • Super middleweight: up to 168 lbs (76.2 kg)
  • Light heavyweight: up to 175 lbs (79.4 kg)
  • Cruiserweight: up to 190 lbs (86.2 kg)
  • Heavyweight: over 190 lbs (86.2 kg)

In addition to these weight classes, some organizations or promotions may have additional weight classes or may have slightly different weight limits for their classes. However, the general guidelines outlined above are commonly used in muay thai.

Muay thai weight classes

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published